‘Still’ short story competition: short list announced

Many thanks to over a hundred writers who entered the Negative Press London/Foyles Still short story competition – with many wonderfully original stories submitted.

The winner will be announced later today, but in the meantime these are the shortlisted ten writers (in alphabetical order), congratulations to:

Jenny Adamthwaite
Jonathan Aldridge
AJ Ashworth
Gill Blow
Maureen Curran
George Hawthorn
Richard Lakin
Angela Readman
Blaire Reeve
Tim Sutton

The shortlist of ten was compiled by Lisa Bywater from Foyles and Roelof Bakker, Still editor. Their choice of ten was subsequently passed on to authors Nicholas Hogg and Evie Wyld to judge and select what they believe to be the most original story. They were not informed of the submitted authors names and received the stories in a numbered format.

Nicholas and Evie have picked the winning story which will be announced later today…

The Stage (Piano) by Roelof Bakker

Writers were invited to write a story inspired by the photograph ‘The Stage (Piano)’ by Roelof Bakker



  1. My short story shortlisted | J. P. Aldridge - October 25, 2012

    […] been lucky/talented enough to be shortlisted for Negative Press London/Foyles Bookshop‘s short story competition. I wrote 500 words inspired by the picture below, […]

  2. Shortlisted in Foyles ‘Still’ short story competition | Rich Lakin's Blog - October 26, 2012

    […] You can read more about it here […]

  3. Consider the function of writing competitions « Practical Criticism - October 30, 2012

    […] results can be rewarding. I was recently shortlisted for the Foyles Bookshop/Negative Press London Still flash fiction competition, which is the best news I’ve had all month. And I am also […]

buy viagra online